This post is also available in:     français (French)

The Board of Governors, comprised of representatives of the founding partners and at-large members, determines policy for the LCO and approves projects, discussion papers and reports, among other responsibilities. Governors serve for three years.

Current members of the Board of Governors

A picture of Raj

Raj Anand (Chair)

Raj joined the LCO Board of Governors in 2014 and was appointed Chair effective April 16, 2020. He is a partner with WeirFoulds LLP who acts as a mediator, arbitrator or counsel in civil, administrative and regulatory litigation. He is a former Bencher of the Law Society of Ontario and current adjudicator and adjunct Law Professor in professional ethics and administrative law. Raj has worked with the Law Reform Commissions of Ontario and Canada.

 Previous Work Experience:

  • Partner, WeirFoulds LLP since 1998
  • Partner, Scott & Aylen (1989-1998)
  • Chief Commissioner, Ontario Human Rights Commission (1988-89)
  • Partner, Cavalluzzo Hayes & Shilton (1985-87)
  • Partner, Laskin Jack & Harris (1983-85)
  • Partner, Cameron Brewin & Scott (1980-83)


  • Dean’s Key, University of Toronto Faculty of Law (1978)
  • Chair, Ontario Task Force on the Law of Trespass to Publicly Used Property as it affects Youth and Minorities (1986-87)
  • Bilingual Adjudicator, Ontario Human Rights and Police Boards of Inquiry (1989-94), U of T Tribunal (1998-2010) and Law Society Tribunal (since 2007); Vice Chair of the Law Society Tribunal Hearing Division (2015-19)
  • President, Pro Bono Law Ontario (2003-05), Minority Advocacy and Rights Council (1989-2000) and U of T Law Alumni Assn (2006-08) and Acting President of the International Commission of Jurists (Canada) (2014-15)
  • Board of Directors, Advocates’ Society; Legal Aid Ontario; Income Security Advocacy Centre; Justice for Children; Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
  • Founding Chair, Ontario Human Rights Legal Support Centre (2008-10)
  • Elected Bencher of Law Society (2007-19); served as Chair of Tribunal Committee, Working Groups on Systemic Racism in the Legal Profession, Tribunal Reform, and Tribunal Three Year Review; Member of various Law Society standing committees and task forces
  • Published numerous articles and chapters on equality rights, constitutional and administrative law, access to justice, appellate advocacy, legal ethics and employment law
  • McMurtry Fellow, Osgoode Hall Law School (2013)
  • Asper Centre Constitutional Litigator in Residence (2015-16)
  • Recipient of Law Society Medal; SABA Distinguished Career Award; Indo-Canadian Chamber of Commerce Man of the Year; FACL Lifetime Achievement Award; Desi Achievers Award; Arbor Award; OBA Distinguished Service Award; and Advocates’ Society Award of Justice


  • B.A., Queen’s University (1975)
  • LL.B, University of Toronto Faculty of Law (1978)

Called to Ontario Bar:

  • 1980
A picture of Neha

Neha Chugh

Neha Chugh joined the LCO Board of Governors in January 2021 and is the appointee of the Law Foundation of Ontario.

Neha is a criminal defence lawyer practicing in Eastern Ontario since 2011, and since 2014 has been the owner and managing partner of Chugh Law Professional Corporation.

Neha graduated from the University of Waterloo with honours degrees in Sociology and Social Work, a Masters of Science from the University of Guelph in Planning, and a juris doctorate from Osgoode Hall Law School at York University.  Neha is currently working on a PhD from Concordia University under the supervision of Dr. Martin French focusing on problem solving courts, therapeutic justice, and access to justice.

Following law school and her articles with the Honourable Justice David Berg and defence lawyer Gerald Logan, she joined Dotsikas Hawtin in Ottawa where she