In order to ensure that the LCO fully considers the practical and theoretical implications that this project raises, we have established an Advisory Group. The Advisory Group is made up of legal practitioners, health care providers, professional associations, academics, ethicists, representatives from community and advocacy organizations, and government representatives with particular expertise in the area.  The role of the Advisory Group is to provide advice on the issues raised by documents released in this project, provide input into a consultation strategy and provide feedback on the impact and effectiveness of potential LCO recommendations.

The current Advisory Group members are as follows:

1.  Nancy Cooper, Ontario Long Term Care Association
2.  Julie Darnay, Quality Hospice Palliative Care Coalition of Ontario & Hospice Palliative Care Ontario
3.  Professor Joan Gilmour, Osgoode Hall Law School
4.  Professor Michelle Giroux, University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law
5.  Dr. Doris Grinspun, Registered Nurses Association of Ontario
6.  Mark Handelman, Whaley Estate Litigation
7.  Pia Hundal, Ontario Bar Association
8.  Dr. Denise Marshall, Division of Palliative Care, McMaster University
9.  Dena Maule, Ontario Caregiver Coalition
10.  Dr. Jeff Myers, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Palliative Care Consult Team
11.  Imam Abdul Hai Patel, Ontario Multifaith Council

12. Wendy Porch, Centre for Independent Living in Toronto
13.  Anne Schrager, Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
14.  Tara Walton, Ontario Palliative Care Network Secretariat
15.  Sara van der Vliet, Health Boards Secretariat
16.  Frank Wagner
17.  Judith Wahl, Wahl Elder Law