In order to ensure that the LCO fully considers the practical and theoretical implications that this Project raises, we are in the process of establishing an Advisory Group. 

The Advisory Group is made up of legal practitioners, academics from law and other relevant disciplines, representatives from community and advocacy organizations and government representatives with particular expertise in the area of the law as it affects older adults.  The role of the Advisory Group is to provide advice on the issues raised by documents released in this Project, provide input into the Consultation Strategy in this Project and provide feedback on the impact or effectiveness of potential LCO recommendations.


The members of the Advisory Group are:

Dr. Jane Barratt – International Federation on Ageing

Nancy Cooper – Ontario Long Term Care Association

Professor Brenda Elias – Lakehead University

Susan Eng – CARP

Elizabeth Esteves and Katherine Mortimer – Ontario Seniors’ Secretariat

Professor David Freedman – Queen’s University, Faculty of Law

David Harvey – Alzheimer’s Society of Ontario

Margaret Hawthorne – Ontario Older Women’s Network

Krista James – Canadian Centre for Elder Law

Professor Gerda Kaegi – Ryerson University, Department of Political Science

Terri Kay – Ontario Network for the Prevention of Elder Abuse

Professor Nina Kohn – Syracuse University, College of Law

Penny MacCourt – Canadian Association on Gerontology

Dr. Lynn McDonald – University of Toronto, Institute for the Life Course and Aging

Kathryn Pilkington – Ontario Association of Non-Profit Housing and Services for Seniors

Judith Wahl – Advocacy Centre for the Elderly