In order to ensure that the LCO fully considers the practical and theoretical implications that this project raises, we have established an advisory group.

The Advisory Group is made up of representatives of provincial and federal governments, legal clinics, the trusts and estates bar, community advocacy organizations, a research centre and financial institutions.  The role of the Advisory Group is to provide advice on the issues raised by documents released in this project, provide input into the consultation strategy in this project and provide feedback on the impact or effectiveness of potential LCO recommendations.


The current members of the Advisory Group are:

Laura Addington – BMO Financial Group

Ann Elise Alexander – Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce

Saara Chetner and Risa Stone – Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee of Ontario

Orville Endicott and Gordon Kyle- Community Living Ontario

Nimali Gamage – Goddard, Gamage and Stephens LLP

Christine Hughes – Ministry of Community and Social Services

Krista James and Laura Watts – Canadian Centre for Elder Law

Sean Keenan – Department of Finance Canada

Laura Metrick – Ministry of the Attorney General

Edgar-Andre Montigny – ARCH Disability Law Centre

Brendon Pooran – Pooran Law

Barbara Simmons – Developmental Services Ontario

Jack Styan – Community Living British Columbia

Irina Sytcheva – Schizophrenia Society of Ontario

Judith Wahl – Advocacy Centre for the Elderly (ACE)