This post is also available in: français (French)

Current Staff

A picture of Nye Thomas

Aneurin (Nye) Thomas

Executive Director

Nye Thomas is the Executive Director of the Law Commission of Ontario.

Nye has more than 20 years of experience leading sophisticated, multidisciplinary projects in Ontario’s justice sector.  As ED of the Law Commission, Nye is responsible for producing independent and evidence-based analysis and recommendations on complex law reform issues.  Current projects include:

Prior to this, Nye was Director General, Policy at Legal Aid Ontario (LAO) where he was responsible for policy development, consultations, and system planning at one of the world’s largest legal aid plans.  Nye’s work at LAO included leading the most significant expansion of legal aid services in more than 20 years.  Nye has also been Policy Director on major provincial inquiries, including the Ipperwash Inquiry.  Nye studied at the University of Toronto (BA), Queen’s University (LLB), and New York University (LLM).

A picture of Maricela Villalta

Maricela Villalta Morales

Executive Officer and Secretary to the Board of Governors

Maricela Villalta Morales (she/her) joined the LCO in May of 2016 and October 2018 for the position of Project & Web Coordinator.

Maricela has worked in the legal sector for 16 years performing administrative, accounting and legal roles at various legal non-profits and most recently as Legal Assistant, Class Proceedings Committee. Maricela holds a Law Clerk Diploma from Centennial College and is currently completing her Bachelor of Psychology. She is fluent in English, French and Spanish.

As Executive Officer, Maricela is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the LCO. Maricela is the primary contact and liaison for communications between the ED and the LCO’s stakeholders. As Secretary to the Board of Governors, Maricela works closely with the LCO’s Board and its Committees and is responsible for its operational a